Massive Attack


Regular price £29.99
Bristol's original trip-hop pioneers had, on previous albums Blue Lines and Protection, fused turntable wizardry to the warmest of soul.With Mezzanine, however, the party had ended; revisiting the murky...

Bristol's original trip-hop pioneers had, on previous albums Blue Lines and Protection, fused turntable wizardry to the warmest of soul.

With Mezzanine, however, the party had ended; revisiting the murky soundscapes so favoured by former partner and fellow Bristolian Tricky, the comeback single "Rising Son" muttering edgily about "cheap beer filled with crocodile tears", over the deepest bass.

The inter band friction created some gems; "Inertia Creeps" is drenched in menace, and "Teardrop" features the ethereal vocals of Liz Fraser of the Cocteau Twins - both of these a benchmark not just for the band, but for the trip-hop genre.

Massive Attack's album "Mezzanine," released in 1998, is an iconic and groundbreaking masterpiece in the realm of electronic and trip-hop music. This album marked a significant evolution in the sound of Massive Attack, pushing the boundaries of the genre and solidifying their status as pioneers of the trip-hop movement. "Mezzanine" is a sonic journey that expertly blends dark, moody atmospheres with hypnotic rhythms and haunting vocals, creating an eerie yet captivating listening experience.

One of the standout tracks on the album is "Teardrop," featuring the ethereal vocals of Elizabeth Fraser from the Cocteau Twins. This song, with its pulsating beats and Fraser's hauntingly beautiful voice, has become an iconic representation of trip-hop and remains a staple in the genre's history. "Mezzanine" as a whole is characterised by its brooding and introspective themes, exploring topics such as love, paranoia, and existentialism. The album's innovative use of samples, electronic textures, and meticulous production techniques set a high watermark for future electronic music artists and firmly established "Mezzanine" as a timeless classic in the world of electronic and alternative music.

1. "Angel"
2. "Risingson"
3. "Teardrop"
4. "Inertia Creeps"
5. "Exchange"
6. "Dissolved Girl"
7. "Man Next Door"
8. "Black Milk"
9. "Mezzanine"
10. "Group Four"
11. "(Exchange)"


We currently only deliver to the UK. Delivery costs are clearly provided at the checkout at the time of purchase. We offer free delivery when spending over £60 in one transaction.

Royal Mail First Class (order value below £60) £2.95
Royal Mail First Class (order value above £60)

To qualify for free delivery please expect all your items to be delivered in one package i.e if you have ordered a 'pre-order' item please expect to wait until all your items are available before any are delivered.

We send our packages via Royal Mail. While we endeavour to get your purchase to you as quickly as possible, once it has left our depot it is out of our hands and we cannot be held responsible for any packages arriving later than expected.


All our items are packaged in good quality cardboard packaging which should prevent any damage during transit. Please kindly note that any clingfilm or shrink wrap around the item is not considered part of the product.


If you decide that a product is not suitable within 30 days of delivery, you can return it to us at your own cost for a replacement or refund. Returns must be unused and in their original, undamaged packaging. Return address information will be included with your purchase.

If a product is damaged please get in touch so we can resolve it quickly for you.


Refunds will be issues to the card that was used to purchase the item.

Refunds for returned items will be issued once the item has been received and checked.

Undelivered Packages

If a package is returned to us due to an incorrect address being supplied or because it was not collected from a local depot, an additional postage fee will be payable in order to resend. We will contact you to arrange this before anything is resent.