The Lemonheads - Lick (Deluxe)

The Lemonheads

Lick (Deluxe)

Regular price £11.99
Lick is the third full-length album and the last to feature founding member Ben Deily. It was also the group's last independent label-released album before...
Lick is the third full-length album and the last to feature founding member Ben Deily. It was also the group's last independent label-released album before signing to major label Atlantic. 

An odd mixture of brand-new, and considerably older, sounds, 1989s Lick brings together the output of several distinct recording sources: six brand new songs recorded with Minneapolis-based band friend and producer Terry Katzman, and a collection of older, B-side and never-released material originally overseen by producer and engineer Tom Hamilton.

The difficulties of writing and creating a new full-length album every year (Hate Your Friends and Creator were released in 1987 and 1988, respectively) are clearly in evidence on Lick. While the newest material (Mallo Cup, A Circle of One, 7 Powers, Anyway) hints at promising new song writing directions for both Deily and Dando, there's an almost valedictory sense of the past in the inclusion of versions of Glad I Don't Know and I Am a Rabbit (from the bands' first-ever, self-released EP), and the now-classic track 'Ever', a previously-unreleased tune from the original 1986 'Hate Your Friends' sessions. At moments, Lick almost sounds like an elegy for itself or an elegy for a band that has reached the end of the beginning.

Also audible in the heterogeneous songs are the tensions of line-up changes and inchoate, growing frustrations. After various band break-ups or threatened break ups (such as Dando's brief departure to play bass for Boston band the Blake Babies), the Lemonheads convened to record new material for Lick now featured Dando on drums, Peretz on bass, Deily on guitar (and piano, according to the album credits) along with the addition of long-time band friend and former member of TAANG! Label mates Bullet LaVolta, Corey Loog Brennan on lead guitar. And yet the frenzied, quasi-ironic hammer-ons of Corey's axe provide some of Licks most entertaining moments like the unaccountably-translated-into-Italian paen to 70s detective Ironside, Cazzo Di Ferro. (The songs music was originally composed by Brennan for his Italian punk band, Superfetazione.)

After the albums completion, Deily opted out of the subsequent European tour, before leaving the band permanently. Jesse Peretz stayed on to record their Atlantic records debut Lovey, but left after the supporting tour in '91. Since then, Dando has been the Lemonheads' sole permanent member.

1. Mallo Cup
2. Glad I Don't Know
3. 7 Powers
4. A Circle Of One
5. Cazzo Di Ferro
6. Anyway
7. Luka
8. Come Back D.A.
9. I Am A Rabbit
10. Sad Girl
11. Ever
Bonus Material
12. Strange
13. Mad
14. Sad Girl (Live On WERS)
15. Nothing True / Glad I Don't Know (Live On WERS)
16. Luka (Live On VPRO 1989)
17. Interview With The Lemonheads (Holland 1989)
18. Mallo Cup (Live On VPRO 1989)
19. Glad I Don't Know (Original EP Version)
20. I Like To (Original EP Version)
21. I Am A Rabbit (Original EP Version)
22. So I Fucked Up (Original EP Version)


We currently only deliver to the UK. Delivery costs are clearly provided at the checkout at the time of purchase. We offer free delivery when spending over £60 in one transaction.

Royal Mail First Class (order value below £60) £2.95
Royal Mail First Class (order value above £60)

To qualify for free delivery please expect all your items to be delivered in one package i.e if you have ordered a 'pre-order' item please expect to wait until all your items are available before any are delivered.

We send our packages via Royal Mail. While we endeavour to get your purchase to you as quickly as possible, once it has left our depot it is out of our hands and we cannot be held responsible for any packages arriving later than expected.


All our items are packaged in good quality cardboard packaging which should prevent any damage during transit. Please kindly note that any clingfilm or shrink wrap around the item is not considered part of the product.


If you decide that a product is not suitable within 30 days of delivery, you can return it to us at your own cost for a replacement or refund. Returns must be unused and in their original, undamaged packaging. Return address information will be included with your purchase.

If a product is damaged please get in touch so we can resolve it quickly for you.


Refunds will be issues to the card that was used to purchase the item.

Refunds for returned items will be issued once the item has been received and checked.

Undelivered Packages

If a package is returned to us due to an incorrect address being supplied or because it was not collected from a local depot, an additional postage fee will be payable in order to resend. We will contact you to arrange this before anything is resent.